Youer Than You

by Chris de Serres

If you’re like me, every so often you try to inspire yourself.  Maybe you see the right commercial or you read the right blog.  When you hear what you needed to hear in the moment you most needed to hear it.  When you wake up early and hear a voice you haven’t in so long.  The voice that says write today.  It is a new day and a new moment to BE you because there is no one alive who is youer than you.

Sometimes you need to organize your chaos.  These puzzle pieces have muddled you but with patience they slot together perfectly.  Naturally.

Maybe inspiration is asking for help and receiving it.  If you’re like me, asking is the hardest thing because we have been hurt for ages.  So we wall ourselves up from humanity, from weakness, and vulnerability.  Yet, we find our way back and we remember how we can never live without others.  We wouldn’t want to.  They take away but they energize us too.  We love people.

fullsizerenderLast weekend, my daughter and I stood silently at a creek, waiting for the salmon to swim upstream, lay their eggs, and die.  They have wandered the oceanic world and come back to the creek of their origin.  We bear witness to their collective last purpose.

This morning I thought about wearing a Black Lives Matter shirt.  I wondered if others would hate me and insult me.  If minorities would be offended.  Then I thought about my best friend who died in a jail cell after police arrested and beat him brutally.  I thought how no one stood up for him, not even the FBI.  That inspired me this morning.

It’s been a rough few months.  Raw and uncertain.  It’s now time to go back and find our paths again.  Be uncompromising in it.  Be you.

 

