Simple Act of Seeing

by Chris de Serres

A couple of years ago I started using this app.  It kept track of what I was eating.  It forced me to see and quantify the food I was consuming in a way that dramatically altered my behavior.  The ignorance of not-knowing allowed me to eat whatever I wanted.  In 2 months I lost 20 lbs by simply being seeing what I was doing.  Awareness does that to us.

A few days ago I began a different kind of awareness project.  I started reading Getting Things Done.  You may have heard about it.  It’s a system for keeping track of your life.  The idea is to capture all of your tasks in life in some manner so that you don’t have to remember anything.  It’s all in the system.  Much like the eating app, I am looking at all my activities in a way I had never done before.  So I am planning and doing more than I have in some time.

It’s only been a week yet I feel so energized and expectant.  It’s hard to procrastinate in this system.  It doesn’t let you.  I’m lining up hopes and dreams I haven’t looked at in years.

All we need is an awareness.  A tracker to percolate our consciousness.  How do you get things done?

